Est 1775

Iconic Hotel

Built between 1767 and 1775

Our Iconic Hotel is located on one of the most famous crescents in the world.

Built between 1767 and 1775 and designed by John Wood the Younger, it remains to this day one of the greatest pieces of Georgian architecture in the UK.

Once complete, The Royal Crescent rapidly established itself as Bath’s most desirable address. Seasonal residents, invariably rich and even royal, fell for the uninterrupted views over the River Avon and the proximity of the newly opened Upper Assembly Rooms, the most fashionable of Bath’s concert, dancing and gambling venues.

Number 16 Royal Crescent became a guest house in 1950 and in 1971 was combined with number 15 to become The Royal Crescent Hotel.

Since then the hotel has had three owners with current owners Topland Group acquiring the property in 2012.

Please click here to read more about our history.

Royal Crescent in numbers

The Facts & Figures

The crescent is 538ft long

  • Each building is about 50ft high
  • There are 30 houses in the crescent
  • In 1945 there were plans to turn it into council offices
  • During the war the lawn was a cabbage plot with 72 allotments
  • Bath is one of only 812 UNESCO World Heritage Sites in the world


The world famous Royal Crescent has also made many film and television appearances, including:

  • Jane Austen’s Persuasion – TV edition (2007)
  • The Duchess staring Kiera Knightley
  • Our Girl (2014)